system until all recipients of the messages have deleted them from their
mailbox. If mail is deleted from the 'WASTE' basket, it is not permanently
gone. It can still be retrieved by a system [SEARCH] until MailMan purges
the message from the system.
If you delete a message, and someone else then replies to it, the message
will be redelivered to you so that it can be read again. Contrast this to
the [TERMINATE] action code, which prevents the message from being redelivered.
The Delete action code (i.e., 'D') allows you to delete individual
messages or a group of messages in a mail basket by moving them to the
Generally, a batch job is run nightly (determined by IRM at your site) to
remove messages from your 'WASTE' basket, and thus, from your mailbox. You
can immediately remove messages from your mailbox by, again, deleting the
messages from your 'WASTE' basket. However, the messages remain on the